DIARY OF AN ONDO KOPA

A lot of people have their complaints about the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC); with many saying it has outlived its usefulness and it’s no more worth the stress.

What is your take? My thoughts on the importance of the scheme have always been a good one. As I see it as a platform to make a difference outside my comfort zone. I see it as an opportunity for selfless service.

Right from when I was young, the khaki colours ignited a feeling of “where I want to be when I grow up”. With thoughts that’s envisage my path to the green colours turning into mind pictures in few seconds. It’s been over six months in the scheme, and my experience is summed up in a sentence: I am learning.

One of the most exciting schools that the NYSC has afforded me is the Community Development Service group. It has been an X-raying moment of intellect, brilliance and apt with the best set of people you could ever ask for. We are sharply arranged along different ideological, experiential, religious, and ethnic lines; yet we have been able to collapse these walls of stereotypes and produce an atmosphere of fun.

MEETINGS

I like play, so I fit in to any jigsaw puzzle that combines fun and excellence. My CDS is a melting point of these ingredients in a rare match of connection. A few of us had already spent over two weeks in OBS (Orientation Broadcasting Service) at the Camp; where we had the fights, hugs, parties and interesting discussions along a wide range of topics. But the group integrated with all, forming a bond that more than the system, we enjoy the company of one another.

IMG-20150723-WA0035

I can be very annoying at times. Especially, in times when my head builds a framework of how things are supposed to go, and it doesn’t go as planned. Sometimes also, you can get to be on the receiving end of some vocal mishaps in form of jokes or serious talk if we are working together. However, within this beautiful CDS group, I have continually metamorphosed into better forms and the growth has continued.

Recently, I was involved in a leadership debacle. I have had to deal with a new gift of experience. All my life, I have always being involved in one leadership role or another…but it has never been a case of serving from a higher to a lower position, even after working so hard to make things work. My concern is not more about the drop, but about the Why. And that’s another wonderful addition to my CV for life spent.

My CDS story continues next week Wednesday. You still wondering which of the CD groups I am in… ehm, next week on super story.

Leave a comment